Alumni Career Spotlight: Stephen Boyce

Stephen Boyce, ERAU-DB, EP

Stephen Boyce, DB 2011

Stephen Boyce graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Physics from the Daytona Beach campus in May 2011. As a student, Stephen completed internships with IMP Aerospace and HINZ, a Rockwell Automation Company.

Soon after graduation, Stephen was hired by Schlumberger as a Maintenance Engineer Trainee, serving as a key link between the field maintenance organization and the Engineering & Manufacturing centers to help improve equipment design reliability and maintainability. After ten months in this role, Stephen moved up to a Field Engineer position and is currently in training to become a Technical Sales Engineer.

Can you tell us about your company?

Schlumberger (pronounced Shlum-Ber-Jay) is the leading oilfield services provider, trusted to deliver superior results and improved performance for oil and gas companies around the world. We are the world’s largest oilfield services company employing 120,000 people. Schlumberger was founded in France in 1927 and now operates in around 85 countries around the world. Our 2011 revenue was $40 billion, and thus far in 2012, we are enjoying continued financial and technological growth. I work in the Artificial Lift Segment, where we focus on the installation, deployment, startup and commissioning of Electric Submersible Pumps. These ESP’s provide the lift necessary to produce oil to surface with enough pressure to reach a surface facility for transport. The company hires freshly graduated engineers, mid career professionals and prospective employees from several different training backgrounds. Generally Schlumberger hires hardworking, team-oriented people who love to travel and accomplish goals.

What factors went in to your decision to select your place of employment?

It is actually an interesting story how I first heard of Schlumberger. I was at a friend’s cottage on summer vacation when an old friend asked me about my plans after graduation. He mentioned that he had worked as a contractor for Schlumberger and began telling me the stories of his travels to dozens of countries around the world in his 20 years with the company. He gave me the direct recruiting contact, I submitted an application and the rest is history. Schlumberger was an attractive employer to me for several reasons. First and foremost, the company is a performance based company. Basically that means that your promotion within the company lies directly in your performance and motivation. My decision was also based on the opportunity to be given mobile status. This means that while I am based in Canada, I can be sent to any of the Schlumberger locations worldwide depending on field activity and training requirements. The training is what sets Schlumberger apart from its competitors. This attracted me to the company, and I have been fortunate to travel to Paris, France, as well as Abu Dhabi, UAE, and Houston, Texas, to our main Artificial Lift training locations. Schlumberger offers excellent work-life balance including time off allowing opportunities to see parts of the world I would have never expected. The benefits, relocation and compensation at Schlumberger are among the best I’ve seen and played a large factor in my employment selection. The relocation process from Florida was handled by Schlumberger which made my transition seamless. Schlumberger promotes healthy growth of employee investments through Retirement Savings Plans, Deferred Profit Sharing and flexible stock options. Fitness is promoted within Schlumberger as well, as we are allocated funds each year for gym memberships and physical activity. The diversity at Schlumberger is unbelievable. Since taking the job, I have met people from every continent, and in a way it reminds me of my time at Embry-Riddle. Ultimately, the level of professionalism and endless opportunities to move up attracted me to Schlumberger as well.

For your job with your current employer, what was the interview process like and how did you prepare? 

After I submitted an application on the Schlumberger Career Portal online, I received an email a few days later requesting a phone interview. I spoke with their recruiter in Houston for about 40 minutes on the phone. We discussed my job interests, combed through my resume and internship experience as well as personal goals, skills and proficiencies. Within a few days, I was called by the national recruiter to travel to Canada for a 3-day technical interview and location visit. During this process I was introduced to several location managers as well as some of the current employees. The technical portion consisted of 4-5 recruiters and managers as well as 10-12 prospective employees for the position I currently have. On the 3rd evening, I was given a verbal offer that was followed by an official offer letter about a week later.

I prepared for the interview by researching the company extensively and using the ERAU career services resources as much as I could. We had several mock interview sessions with the questions getting more difficult each time. We also scrutinized my resume together before submitting it online.

Do you have any interview advice after going through that experience?

I recommend that students utilize Career Services as much as possible. They helped me with resume optimization, interview preparation and overall confidence. The more you prepare, the more confident you will be in yourself, and ultimately you can put your best foot forward. Cater your resume specifically to the job you are applying to, since employers can spot a generic mass resume from miles away. Be sure to establish your added value to the company during the interview process. Remind your recruiter that you are interested by following up with a phone call and email. A recruiter sees hundreds of resumes a week – the more times your name goes across their desk the better.

What doors have been opened for you from all of your hard work at your current employer and during school?

I couldn’t have predicted the opportunities that have come up so far with Schlumberger. Since joining the company in August 2011, I have been promoted from a Maintenance Engineer Trainee to a Field Engineer and now a Technical Sales Engineer in training. As part of the Maintenance program, I had the opportunity to travel to Paris for a 6-week instruction on Electric Submersible Pump Application Engineering and was approved for travel to Switzerland, Italy, Belgium and the Canary Islands, Spain. Following the recommendation of my instructor in Paris, I was transferred into the Sales program which includes customer relationship management, client development and overall revenue generation for Schlumberger through enterprise selling. While in Houston, I was in charge of populating a sales opportunity worth $5,000,000. Lately I am also tasked with application engineering designs, where I develop an equipment string to produce oil based on downhole reservoir pressure, temperature, flow rates and operating conditions. The most recent promotion features a temporary work term in Abu Dhabi where I will engineer equipment designs for aggressive well conditions as well as develop commercial proposals that will be used to submit to clients in future bids. Following the work term in Abu Dhabi, the manager of our Singapore facility has offered me the opportunity to travel to Singapore, observe how things operate in that facility and monitor for improvements at our home location in Canada.

My long term goals with Schlumberger include managing an international sales account and establishing a company-wide program that enables our engineers to submit quotes seamlessly allowing streamlined transition between Schlumberger and the client. This is an area within the company with great potential for improvement and would allow Schlumberger to flourish economically and increase the distance between us and our competitors.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

