Alumni Career Spotlight: Jonathan Weisberg

Jonathan Weisberg received his Master of Business Administration (MBA) Jon W.degree from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in August 2011, and he completed his Bachelor of Science in Tourism and Hospitality Management at Arizona State University in 2007.  Jon is currently a Research and Technology Supplier Management Procurement Agent with The Boeing Company.  Before coming on board with Boeing, he completed internships with JetBlue and the Walt Disney Company, both in finance-oriented positions.  Jon also worked for Mesa Airlines, prior to coming to Embry-Riddle, in crew scheduling.

How did you land a job with The Boeing Company?

Obtaining a full time position at Boeing was not an easy task as Boeing receives hundreds or even thousands of applicants for one position.  For my position alone, there were 1,100 applicants for just 3 openings.  I learned this the hard way as I started applying for positions back in the fall of my last year at Embry-Riddle.  I was fortunate to meet lead Boeing recruiter Mark Lyden who went through the 7 steps to applying for jobs as well as encouraged me to apply to multiple jobs, as in 20+ jobs.  I assumed with having an MBA, 2 years of airline experience, and top notch internships with JetBlue and Disney that I would be a shoe-in for a job with Boeing.  However, this was not the case right away.  Besides applying for full time jobs at Boeing, I also applied to finance and revenue management jobs with major airlines.  By the spring of 2011, I had a few interviews with the airlines, and after applying to over 20 jobs at Boeing, I secured an interview as a Procurement Agent.  I ended up getting the job and started working as a Procurement Agent within Boeing Research and Technology in September of 2011.

What does your current position entail?

As a Procurement Agent within Boeing Research and Technology, I enjoy the daily challenges of solving logistic issues as well as interacting with suppliers and engineers.  In Supplier Management, we are the liaisons working between the Supplier and engineer to make sure the parts I order run on time and all the orders are correct.  I have a broad range of experience having purchased numerous commodities and services, leases, and loans and having negotiated contract terms and conditions.  My favorite parts of this job are: negotiating price to find a best value solution for Boeing as well as our suppliers and traveling to meet with our suppliers face to face.  Being able to work for a leader in the aerospace industry has been a great experience thus far, and I look forward to what lies ahead with Boeing.

While working on your MBA, you completed internships with JetBlue Airways and The Walt Disney Company. How did those experiences benefit you?

Having the opportunity to intern at two world class companies such as JetBlue Airways and the Walt Disney Company were incredible experiences that have helped me in my current role.  Even though both internships were in finance, I learned a lot about customer service as well as building my Microsoft Excel and presentation skills.  While at Walt Disney World, I was working in Financial Operations for the Water Parks and Miniature Golf Courses.  All finance interns were required to work on an individual project and present it to all the other interns as well as finance executives including the CFO of Walt Disney Parks and Resorts.  My project was on weather-related studies and how weather during certain times of the year affects our operating income.  My project helped our operations team determine at what temperature the water parks should be closed to save Disney hundreds of thousands of dollars a year.

Do you have any advice for business students seeking a career in the aerospace industry?

My biggest advice for students who are sophomores or higher is to get as much work and leadership experience as possible.  The best way to get work experience is to complete summer internships in fields in which you are interested.  Even though you will learn basic theories and learn the aviation industry in school, you will not really understand it fully until you work there.  Plus a summer internship gives you insight into a company and is a 3 month interview that helps you secure a job with that company once completed.  My other recommendation is to network with leaders within the aerospace industry and find mentors.  Most business leaders within the aerospace industry love mentoring bright young minds, especially because they will be hiring these students, and someday these students will be running the company.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

